Weatherby Award

14 Weatherby Award winners

Kingham Safaris has been the Australian outfitter of choice for many renowned hunters including 14 Weatherby Award winners.

Kingham Safaris is a family owned operation which had its first hunt in 1982 after Bill Webster, inspired by his interest in hunting the wild deer on his property, decided to become an outfitter . Bill’s sons, Andrew and James, were eager to get involved and (after a lengthy skinning apprenticeship) have helped expand the business to include all the species of Australian game animals at 3 locations.

Trophy species available include:

  • Javan rusa
  • Moluccan rusa
  • Sambar
  • Hog deer
  • Water buffalo
  • Banteng
  • Axis
  • Blackbuck
  • Fallow
  • Feral ox
  • Dingo
  • Wild boar


Locations: KinghamMarble Island and Walker River

Since that first hunt in 1982, Bill, Andrew and James have guided hundreds of hunters from over 25 countries including 14 Weatherby Award winners. The combined 80 years of guiding experience gathered in that time has given us the knowledge to run a successful, hassle-free and enjoyable hunt.

Kingham Safaris is a long-time supporter of SCI, Dallas SC and Houston SC.

Bill, Andrew and James are certified SCI Master-measurers.

Kingham Safaris offers free-range and estate hunting options.

Weatherby Award Winners

First presented in 1956, the Weatherby Award annually recognizes an individual for outstanding support of wildlife conservation, lifetime hunting achievement and dedication to the principles of ethical sport hunting. Recipients of the award are honoured by their peers as among the world’s premier sportsmen/ conservationists.
Click here to visit Weatherby Foundation.

Hunter Country Year of Award Hunted with Kingham
Jim Conklin USA 1987 1986
Gary Ingersoll USA 1991 2000
Hubert Thummler Mexico 1992 1985
Irvin Barnhart USA 1993 1990 & 2000
Dan Duncan USA 1998 1997 & 2003
Adrian Sada Mexico 2001 1988 & 1999
Mike Simpson USA 2003 1991 &1997
Jimmy Rosenbruch USA 2005 1986
Frederico Sada Mexico 2006 2004
Larry Rudolph USA 2007 2005
Alan Sackman USA 2008 2001, 2011 & 2015
Alain Smith USA 2014 2011 & 2015
Renee Snider USA 2015 2013
Barbara Sackman USA 2016 2001, 2011 & 2015
Ken Barr USA 2017 2013 & 2015